Nano Night 2014 Highlights and Winners

The CNM’s 13th annual Nano Night poster session was held on Wednesday, March 26th in the Larry R. Faulkner Nanoscience and Technology Building.  An event sponsored by the CNM’s Doctoral Portfolio Program in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, it featured posters from thirty-seven undergraduate students, graduate students, and postdoctoral researchers from a variety of departments in the College of Natural Sciences and the Cockrell School of Engineering.  The event was attended by UT students, faculty and staff, and local industry representatives.

We are pleased to announce that the following awards will be given to the exceptional posters in each category:

Best Undergraduate Student Poster – $50.00
Edward Seifert
“Catalytic Characterization of Palladium and Gold Dendrimer-Encapsulated Nanoparticles using the Langmuir-Hinshelwood Mechanism”
Affiliation: Freshman Research Initiative

Best Graduate Student Poster – $200.00
Jongwon Lee
“Active and Nonlinear Metasurfaces Based on Intersubband Transitions”
Affiliation: Nanostructured Optoelectronics Lab, PI: Dr. Mikhail Belkin

Best Graduate Student Poster, 1st Runner Up – $100.00
Yichen Fang
“High Performance Nanofiber Manufacturing by Centrifugal Forcespinning”
Affiliation: Dr. Christopher J. Ellison Research Group

Best Graduate Student Poster, 2nd Runner Up – $50.00
Donald Robinson
“Designer Bifunctional Nanohybrids for Magnetically Lowering Detection Limits in Single-Nanoparticle Electroanalysis”
Affiliation: Dr. Keith Stevenson Research Group

Best Postdoctoral Poster – $50.00
Seungyong Jung
“Broadly Tunable Terahertz Sources Operating at Room Temperature”
Affiliation: Nanostructured Optoelectronics Lab, PI: Dr. Mikhail Belkin

Best Nano Portfolio Program Student Poster – $150.00
Jackson Stolle
“Inexpensive Nanocrystal Solar Cells with >100% Peak Quantum Efficiency”
Affiliation: Dr. Brian Korgel Research Group

The CNM would like to extend special thanks to our industry attendees for the feedback they provided to our poster presenters.  Your participation in this event is invaluable!

And gratitude is also extended to our judges, who generously volunteered their time to help choose our award winners:

Dr. Donglei Fan, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UT-Austin
Dr. Rui Huang, Department of Aerospace Engineering & Engineering Mechanics, UT-Austin
Dr. Elaine Li, Department of Physics, UT-Austin
Dr. Damon Smith, Center for Nano- and Molecular Science and Technology, UT-Austin
Dr. David Vanden Bout, Department of Chemistry, UT-Austin
Dr. Yaguo Wang, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UT-Austin
Dr. Guihua Yu, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UT-Austin